Happiness is…

…acquiring a pair of vintage dining chairs that are almost exactly what you’ve been coveting without having to pay shipping costs beyond the price of a cab ride home.

I’ve been looking for a mid-century dining table, preferably a gate leg or other drop leaf table, and chairs to go along with it for a while now. On a whim, I decided to spend today hitting the various vintage shops in Chelsea. If I had the luxury of a car, I wouldn’t be beholden to the overpriced sources in Manhattan, but such is life. I hit a few of the bigger shops along West 17th Street with no luck, then decided that rather than going to Container Store for new underbed bins and having to lug them around all day, I should take my chances up on 24th Street, where Olde Good Things and the weekend flea market in the parking garage across the street are located.

Olde Good Things is always good for a laugh at their prices, but sometimes you never know what you’ll find. And I certainly didn’t find these there. But I got to ogle a lot of very nice furniture and salvaged stuff that always makes me wistful that these things don’t get to stay in their original locations.

I wasn’t very optimistic about the flea market, it tends to be primarily lots of ugly paintings and costume jewelery and of course on the weekend of the Mad Men premiere, it’s typically going to be overrun with people looking for vintage outfits. I happened upon this one store in the back corner of the second level after I’d pretty much given up hope of finding anything decent. I’d seen chairs in varying conditions at other vendors (including one pretty beat up Hans Olsen triangle chair), but these were pretty immaculate . There’s a small tear in the vinyl on one seat, and the joinery on the other chair is a bit loose, but they’re both stable with minimal wear and tear. Basically, just what I’ve been looking for and at a reasonable price.

I’ll see what I can do about repairing the tear in the vinyl, but I’ll probably make removable seatcovers to keep them in good shape.

Leave a Reply

